Your credit report lists your open and closed accounts and their balances.
If you paid off an account balance, you may not see it reflected in your credit report until your next
This is because reports are updated when lenders provide new information to credit reporting agencies and
when consumer disputes and lender investigations are complete. The frequency can depend on the type of
account information being updated:
Revolving accounts, like credit cards, typically update
every 30 days. Installment accounts, like mortgages, can take up to 30 days.
Even if you closed an account, it will continue to appear on your report for 7-10 years
I see something I believe is inaccurate on one of my accounts.
Can I fix it?
Each account on your credit report provides details such as open date, balance and payment status. You can
dispute any of the details listed if they are incorrect. You can't dispute that an account still appears on your
credit report after it's closed.
I paid off a balance, so why is the account still showing a
balance on my credit report?
Credit reports update when lenders provide new information to the credit reporting agencies. You may not see
changes reflected immediately in your report. Some lenders send updates more frequently than others, but it
usually happens once a month. Learn more about how
to read your credit report.
How long do closed accounts stay on my credit report?
Closing an account doesn’t remove it from your credit report immediately. An account that was in good standing
with a history of on-time payments when it was closed will stay on your report for up to 10 years. That can help
your credit score. Accounts with negative information may stay on your report for up to 7 years.
Please note that:
This opt out only applies to information collected and shared through cookies, trackers and other technology when browsing our site or using our apps. If you would like to opt out of the sale of your information other than through cookies, click here.
You will still see advertising, but it may not be targeted and may not be relevant to you.
If you are a guest user or are not logged into your account, your opt-out choice will only be effective for this browser or application. If you remove or clear all your cookies, your selections will not be saved and you will need to opt out again when you return to the site.